BREAKING: Mr. Omaña forgets how to speak Spanish, fired from Canterbury, now works at Primo’s Deli

By Kate Pizzano

In recent news from Canterbury School, Form Dean Julio Omaña, a Canterbury veteran of over 30 years, has reportedly forgotten how to speak his first language—Spanish. His accent has disappeared and is now fully American. This news comes as a shock to many. Julio has been teaching Spanish for all of his time working at Canterbury, and he now claims to not remember how: “I woke up Monday morning, everything seemed normal. I got to my classroom and realized that I couldn’t understand the posters on my wall. ‘Is this French?’, I asked myself. I realized upon my first class’s arrival that I could not teach, so I walked out.” Many students and faculty at Canterbury are concerned about Julio’s current issue. Students have started referring to him as “Mr. Omaña” instead of “Señor Omaña”. However, there are some critics that don’t quite believe that his condition is real. “How can you be from Venezuela and not speak Spanish?”, says sixth-former Brooke Stevenson. “I think he’s faking it. He’s sick and tired of teaching Spanish, and he’s putting up a fake act,” says coworker Ms. BT. Due to this news rapidly spreading throughout the town of New Milford, Canterbury School has officially fired Julio Omaña. His wife, Amy, stated, “I can speak more Spanish than him now. As long as they don’t fire me, I’ll be ok.” 

Since being fired, many former students and friends of Julio have reached out, trying to help. A local Latin American restaurant called Primo’s Deli has offered Julio a job as a chef. “Maybe working here will help him remember Spanish, and he will learn enough here anyway,” says the Primo’s Deli owner. Julio has accepted this job offer in hopes of relearning Spanish.

Leave a comment